Ouch!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Ouch!

Postby Bernie » 01 Apr 2011, 07:23

Hello, newbie here.
I first had pain after DD1 was born (3.5 yrs ago), by emergency C-section), when to the GP and he, less than helpfully, said to eat more fruit and veg. :roll: I tried, but after a few more weeks I was in severe agony and losing lots of blood (I don't know how much, but the toilet water was black/very dark red with blood). So I returned to the docs, but requested to see a female GP. She diagnosed a fissure, but said they're uncommon after a CS. Tried various things, and eventually had botox when DD1 was 9mo, which sorted it, though still used lactulose for a further 9months.
Last August DD2 was born (VBAC) and again I had problems straight away. This time I was more proactive seeing and returning to the GPs etc, though they still have tried to dismiss me a few times. I've finally been referred for surgery (I demanded it) and yet my consultation isn't until Mid-may, so it will be even later before the surgery gets scheduled. Image This time it's much worse than before. The pain is unbearable, I'm screaming out with a towel in my mouth for me to bite down, lots of blood, it's taking forever as I try not to strain (which isn't good when I've a pre-schooler and a baby alone downstairs), etc. And I'm also getting after pains and I can't sit in one position for very long (which is bad because I'm breastfeeding).
I don't see the point of going back to the docs again, as I don't know what they can do??? Is it just a matter of waiting, or is there something I can do to reduce the pain etc?
Thanks for reading my essay.
Bernie
Salt Bather

Topics: 10

Re: Ouch!

Postby alpinestrawberry » 01 Apr 2011, 08:16

Hi Bernie,