Is this normal for a fissure?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Is this normal for a fissure?

Postby NeuropathicGuy » 02 Aug 2009, 18:30

Hi all,
I'm relatively new to anal fissures (have only had mine for about a month) and was just wondering if it's normal for fissures, especially after a couple of rough bowel movements (in my case repeated episodes of watery diarrhea throughout a day) to cause all kinds of discomfort. For example: nearly constant throbbing pain that takes all day to decrease, pain when sitting or lying down and even when walking (especially down stairs), and feeling like I want to have a bowel movement even when there's no stool.
I also have internal and external hemorrhoids but my doctor says they aren't thrombosed and are just bleeding a little bit. So supposedly all of the discomfort is related to the fissure. However he doesn't seem too knowledgeable about fissures in general, so I wanted to run this by you guys and see what you think. This thing is uncomfortable as anything I can imagine (I know I'm preaching to the choir here) but it would at least give me some peace of mind if I at least know that it's normal to experience from a fissure.
Thank you so much, here's hoping for better times for all of us.
NeuropathicGuy
King Fissure

Topics: 45

Re: Is this normal for a fissure?

Postby NeuropathicGuy » 03 Aug 2009, 02:17

One other thing I was wondering: is it normal for the throbbing pain to be worse when urinating? When I'm urinating, it feels like I'm pushing using the anal muscles as well, thus causing the throbbing pain from the fissure to become worse. Basically, it feels like there is stool that needs to come out, yet there isn't.
Does that seem normal for a fissure? I can't find much in the literature describing this sensation and am curious as to whether it's a normal fissure symptom or if it suggests yet something else to worry about.
NeuropathicGuy