Already taking Citrucel and Miralax - what else can I take?

Discuss changes in diet that have helped you manage your fissure, or any supplements or medications/creams that have been effective.

Return to Diet Tips / Supplements

Already taking Citrucel and Miralax - what else can I take?

Postby crimeofpassion » 12 Jul 2010, 17:23

I take two Citrucel tablets every night and also a dose of Miralax, in addition to using nitro ointment. Although my doctor says I have no fissure anymore, I still have a very achey pain - sometimes quite bad - where my fissure was, and where the LIS incision was made. I also get painless muscle spasms/twitches. I just can't seem to keep my stool soft enough, which only adds to the problem. What can I take in addition to what I already am to help keep my stool soft? I'm studying abroad in September, so I'm keen on knowing whether or not there's something more I can be doing to help my pathetic butt. Image
crimeofpassion
Proctosphincteranalogist

Topics: 16

Re: Already taking Citrucel and Miralax - what else can I take?

Postby cherylk » 12 Jul 2010, 18:00

You could take another half dose of Miralax and/or take Benefiber.
cherylk
VIP

Topics: 46

Postby NeuropathicGuy » 12 Jul 2010, 20:54

I'm 2+ months out from LIS and still sometimes get pain from both the fissure and LIS site too. I'm hoping it'll go away with time but who knows anymore.
I assume your dose of Miralax is 17 g daily (basically one cap or measuring cup full). It should be safe to exceed that and see if doing so makes any difference.
Also, be sure to drink a TON of water with the Miralax. I drink water every night until I'm peeing clear urine every 10 minutes or so. If I drink less than that I can tell because the stool is harder the next morning.
How do you tell you have painless muscle spasms BTW? Just curious. Are they of the sphincter muscle or some other rectal muscle?
NeuropathicGuy
King Fissure

Topics: 45

Postby crimeofpassion » 14 Jul 2010, 15:36