New year resolution: beat the fissure...

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

New year resolution: beat the fissure...

Postby fierybiscuits » 23 Dec 2010, 17:31

Hi, another newbie here - it was a great relief to find this forum tonight while scouring the web for info after a particularly alarming... 'BP'? 'BM'? 'PM'? (I've not quite figured out the terminology used here yet Image ) poo.
I've had a chronic fissure for just over 2 years and my new years resolution for this coming year is to beat the damn thing, and keep it beat, hopefully by simply adjusting eating/drinking/exercise patterns without resorting to medication. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
I find that sites giving formal info just aren't quite.. detailed enough to let you know the extent and range of symptoms and experiences.
I can put my finger fairly squarely on the incident which caused the original acute fissure... let's just say after a brief foray into such activities, I don't anticipate ever returning to them after the pain of the last 2 years. :o
I can also put my finger fairly squarely onto a handful of lifestyle issues which helped it stick around instead of healing like the majority do...
-lack of fruit & veg
-drinking next to nothing most days
-sitting on my backside for long periods without moving owing to the nature of my job
-being an impatient strainer on the loo
-eating too much in one sitting
I really regret not getting to grips with it early on, I didn't even get it diagnosed for 6 months I was so distracted with other life issues at the time, I assumed the intense pain I was experiencing was piles and just grinned and bore it. What I would really like to know now is, once you've had one this long, how likely is it that it will ever fully heal? I appreciate that once you've had one, you may have to be more careful than most ever after.