LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS HAD LIS

really interested in how recovery was

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS HAD LIS

Postby 21yroldneedshelp » 27 Jan 2016, 11:55

hi everyone,
I have LIS scheduled for next Friday and am pretty nervous. I've read so many different things online about the recovery, but I am a student and because I can't take off for two weeks or not sit on my butt like some people say, I really would like to hear from someone who has had the surgery and see what they say about the aftermath. Please let me know anything you have experienced (hopefully good)!!! I really appreciate it
21yroldneedshelp
Fibre Addict

Topics: 3

Re: LOOKING FOR SOMEONE WHO HAS HAD LIS

Postby Laurenlkw87 » 31 Jan 2016, 14:28

I had the surgery two days ago after going back and forth about having it for a few days. I was suffering for about a month and couldn't take it anymore. I am 28 years old and just had a baby on December 6. I read some horror stories that were scaring me big time but the aftermath is really not as bad as what I read...for me anyways. I was very afraid to go the bathroom afterwards but miralax has been getting me through and it just burns a bit when I go. I'm alternating Motrin and Tylenol and taking sitz baths throughout the day. Also staying off my butt as much as possible. Tough when you're breastfeeding! Doctor said I had two tears and two abrasions so I'm so glad it is now fixed and I'm sure it can only get better from here! So far I would say surgery is so worth it rather than living with the pain of a fissure! Good luck you will be fine!!'
Laurenlkw87

Postby 21yroldneedshelp » 01 Feb 2016, 17:33