Milk of Magnesia

Discuss changes in diet that have helped you manage your fissure, or any supplements or medications/creams that have been effective.

Return to Diet Tips / Supplements

Milk of Magnesia

Postby FissureFighter0122 » 03 Dec 2010, 20:40

Hey everyone! :)
I was searching for posts on milk of magnesia, and did find some info, but I was curious if anyone is currently taking it? My surgeon suggested it to me, so I am going to give it a shot, and was wondering if anyone else finds it helpful at all!
Thanks guys! :)
FissureFighter0122
Salt Bather

Topics: 3

Re: Milk of Magnesia

Postby Guest » 04 Dec 2010, 23:20

I take miralax FF, but have taken MOM in the past for constipation. It was mild for me and didn't cause anything explosive but as you probably already know- things work differently for all of us. It sucks but we kind of have to just try things and see what happens Image

Postby Cagirl » 05 Dec 2010, 09:21

I was a nurse (haven't worked as one in a few years except in my own house lol). MOM was always second in line after Colace. I have also tried it recently after Colace failed (taking 3 in a day) so then I took a dose of MOM along with about 6 glasses of water and walking for ten minutes and it's worked like a charm! Nothing explosive for me either, but I seemed to be quite dehydrated at the time too. I will always have some on hand now.
Cagirl
Salt Bather

Topics: 9

Postby FissureFighter0122 » 05 Dec 2010, 10:16

Hey guys!
Thanks so much for your responses! :)