2 months post surgery update

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

2 months post surgery update

Postby scared ann » 05 Feb 2014, 20:42

Well, it is two months post surgery. I got an abscess which was surgically drained and corrected a month ago. I had a checkup with the surgeon yesterday and he said everything was healing as it should. I have managed to keep my bowel movements soft and regular by eating 25 grams of fiber in my daily diet and 2 or 3 Colase tablets a day. Doctor said the Metamusil wasn't necessary as long as BMs were regular and enough fiber was through diet. No problem with sphincter control. I still have a small (pea sized)swollen looking skin where the tag was removed. Doctor didn't seem to know what it was but said he will look at in 3 months if it is still there. It is not painful but I know it is there. I still have an occasional sharp shooting pain, but the Dr. says it is a spasm. So all in all, I am healing according to plan and looking forward to a fissure-free life.
scared ann
Proctosphincteranalogist

Topics: 5

Re: 2 months post surgery update

Postby Scientist2516 » 05 Feb 2014, 22:34

That's great news, Ann. Thanks so much for the update.
Remember, the healing process can be slow, so don't be discouraged by the pain. It should go away eventually. It's just really great that you are doing so well.
:stars:
Nifedipine/lidocaine, no help
Diltiazem, effective, but caused major rash
Nitroglycerine, effective.
Topical estrogen for final healing.
Gentle heat to bottom - pain relief, muscle relaxant
Kondremul mineral oil
Time - lots of time.
Status - Healed!
Scientist2516

Topics: 16

Postby scared ann » 06 Feb 2014, 10:05