What causes your fissure issues? Re-tear or new?

IBS attack, anxiety, constipation, exam, etc..

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

What causes your fissure issues? Re-tear or new?

Postby Manitourose » 19 Oct 2015, 09:28

Hello guys,

Reaching out for support and out of curiosity. My background is that I came to this board over a year ago after being diagnosed with a simple fistula. It was repaired and about 5 months after I saw another CRS (new city) worried about a re-occurrence of the fistula and was found instead to have a deep internal fissure. It took a few months to fully heal using diltiazem 2x a day, coconut oil during the day and increasing my baths to promote healing.

I recently (last week) had a minor retear. I am using the same protocol. I honestly feel WIPED OUT physically & emotionally from a number of things. I deal with generalized anxiety disorder (still trying to find a therapist in my new city), began developing health fears in the last few years, was recently dx'd with an low-grade abnormal pap and HPV after no new partners and always had a clean bill of health --so a biopsy is scheduled next week, new internist just started me on amitriptyline after being on gabapentin on & off for years (to treat IBS & anxiety) and after a very stressful couple years and recent months taking my boards exams I ended up with a pretty rough bout of IBS and still do not feel great. I think attacks of IBS and anxiety are my key factors to re-tear. I am so tired of the anxiety, IBS and bum issues though. It really holistically is affecting my ability to get started in my new career and live peacefully. :cry: So my question is:

What factors into your new or re-tear of fissures?

If you don't have any factors, a virtual hug will suffice.. ;-), but I'm sure we all have ideas of what leads to our bum issues. :thanx: