Botox success stories please....

2 hemmeroid procedures resulted in v painful fissure! Now advised to have Botox

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Botox success stories please....

Postby NikkiB69 » 25 Jan 2018, 09:17

Very quick history - I'm a 48 year old female, married with two sons. November 2015 had haemorrhoid removal surgery, unfortunately left with skin tags so second procedure performed Jan 2016 to remove.. left with fissure, suffering ever since : ( ............

I've been using GTN ointment (second time trying) for a couple of months which seems to have helped a bit but still in a lot of pain with and after BM.
I've just had another consultation with a private CRS in Bristol as I'm still in quite a lot of pain despite the last doctor I saw saying she thought the fissure was healed/couldn't see it......

So, my CRS says he's pretty sure that from my description of pain and the issues I'm having it IS still a fissure!! He didn't want to examine me he feels quite confident that's what it is. He advised I have a proper examination done by him under sedation so he can check properly what's going on, make sure it is a fissure, nothing else besides, remove any relative scar tissue and apply Botox.. I was not happy at this : ( But I guess it might be the answer..
I don't do well with general anaesthetic (take weeks to recover, hurts my throat, I can't eat and the last couple of times my bladder hasn't woken up so I've needed a catheter, erggghh!), he says I could have a spinal block but then again that has a higher risk of needing a catheter..... Oh the joys......
He said the pain of a fissure is underestimated, they liken it to the pain of a calf muscle cramp, except that's something you can massage and get rid of, whereas the spasm of a fissure you can't, he said it's like a heart attack, in your bottom. WoW!