Chronic fissure :(

New chronic fissure - what to do?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Chronic fissure :(

Postby painOhmy » 12 Feb 2018, 14:03

So I've been fighting internal hemorrhoids for many years now. It started with a bowel movement from hell (my first ever). For months later I was in miserable pain, constipated, etc... At the time I wasn't properly diagnosed and I'm fairly sure I was constipated + had a minor fissure. Over the years I learned to adjust my diet; remove lactose, reduce wheat, all the regular stuff. I also uncovered a magical method of using a jell, or something like Anusol Plus to pre-grease the skids right before doing a bowel movement. It did wonders for years. Then about 1 year ago I found out about the squatty potty. Thought why not. It worked terrific - no issues.

Then just a little while ago a had what I thought was a regular movement and nope... teared myself something brutal. Started taking a bit of metamucil at night but it continued to get worse with blood in the morning after each BM. Pain goes away but then at lunch it comes back with massive spams. Saw a doc and he prescribed diltiazem. It helped a bit... I thought but now I'm getting significant itch in that region. Also I continue to have the blood in the morning weeks later.

I've read the forum but had some questions that maybe people can point me to:

1) My BM seems to start out hard and then is soft. I think the initial hardness is blowing the valve so to speak. Should I take metamucil during the day, not just a night? I'm trying to adjust my diet as well. I tend to eat rice krispies every morning since I can't really eat wheat products.

2) Is there anything you can take to just make your poop go soft all the time? In the past this is how my system worked but now it seems to not do this :(.