First time fissure sufferer needs wisdom

New here + my fissure story + looking for insight

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

First time fissure sufferer needs wisdom

Postby Pita89 » 11 Jun 2019, 19:50

Hi all. New here, and very grateful to have found a community like this one. :hugs: I've been battling a fissure for 3 months now and am weighing my options.

This nightmare started for me in early March after a bout of food poisoning (from salad, of all things). I don't have a history of gastro issues or rectal pain, so I initially thought I'd developed hemorrhoids... but a Google search of "feeling like I'm pooping glass" introduced me to the excruciating world of fissures. I spent several weeks trying to heal it myself (coconut oil, sitz baths, prep H ointment, olive oil, honey, you name it)... and then things got really effed up.

In early April I suddenly couldn't have a BM, which wasn't normal for me. Even with the fissure I was going at least once a day, although in retrospect it wasn't much most days, but it was something. So by the 3rd day, after no luck with Miralax and with increasing rectal pressure, I went to the ER. I was diagnosed with a severe fecal impaction... I truly thought i had some kind of abscess blocking my rectum or something by that point, so the impaction news seemed better than that.... or so I thought. After 4 days and an extremely aggressive clean out (in addition to enemas, rectal exams, and a sigmoidoscopy) the impaction was cleared, but SURPRISE I now have 3 hemorrhoids and my fissure tore deeper.