Post Surgery reassurance please?

increasing pain with BMs -5 days out.

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Post Surgery reassurance please?

Postby joannab88 » 30 Jun 2020, 01:20

Newbie here, so glad to have found you.
I'm a 45yo cis mom of two teenagers. I've had a cranky fissure for the last couple years, but am pretty sure I've had it lurking around for most of my life and thought it was hemorrhoids.
The last 6 months I had a pretty bad flare up and 3 months ago it got so bad I couldn't function, so got in for surgery. --Thanks Covid and general state of the world for spiking everyone's anxiety and making all of us clench our teeth, shoulders, and apparently pelvises even more, right? I have a friend who is a PT specializing in pelvic pain and after talking to him it all makes sense. Yes, it IS related to stress, everyone. You are not wrong!

Anyhoo. I am currently 5 days post-A.L.Sphincterotomy, and am worried about my pain getting worse, not better. I know everyone's experience is different, but I could use some reassurance.

My first few days post-surgery were awesome, I felt so good! Even the scary first BM was manageable with sitz and Advil. Surgeon gave me Oxycodone but I thought I was such a bada** I didn't even need it. HAHA, well I sure needed it today!

The last two days (day 4 and 5 after surgery) my BMs have been soft and slide right on out (I can tell things are somewhat more "loose" down there and am also taking stool softener and Mirilax) but increasingly painful, with the last one having stabbing pain that lasted two hours afterward. AW HELL NO.