New to the world of pain

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

New to the world of pain

Postby bottomline » 20 Jul 2010, 15:51

So I am new to this ordeal and have been devastated by the seemingly little but life altering cut on the bottom.
Got my first one about 2 months ago. Before it started, I had a very stressful period of about 3 weeks with irregular and hard BMs, diarrhea on a couple of occasions. I also used to sit on the toilet for 30 mins. and just surf the web. I also had itching which i promptly did - a little inside the anus as well. At this point I had no idea what a fissure was.
So one day, I saw some very minor blotting on the TP for two days in a row and went to the GP. He said it looks like a minor fissure. He asked me to use hydrocortizone suppositories, add metamucil to my diet and sent me home. 4 days later I went to a CR who did anoscopy, did an HSV (herpes) culture (which came out negative), asked me to stop hydrocortizone and start using calmol 4 suppositories. He said it is a small fissure.
I was taking metamucil, increased my water intake a little. Did not make many changes to my diet which obviously was not great. None of these docs explained to me how serious can it be.
For the next 2.5 weeks, there was no blood, just mild discomfort. I also obsessively kept looking at it using a mirror and a lamp - every single day. I did not see anything more than a minor scratch. I did not know I was disturbing it.
It was feeling better but the area outside was red and itchy. So one day I could not resist and I itched it. Two days later there was significant bleeding on the TP and stinging pain. I made an appointment with the CR for a week later. The day I saw the CR, it seemed fine. So he said it is getting better and asked me to use synalar for the outside inflammation.