Another rambling newbie - with thanks for all your posts

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Another rambling newbie - with thanks for all your posts

Postby spamfree1232002 » 12 Feb 2011, 16:33

Hi folks,
Many thanks to you all - probably as with many newcomers it's a comfort to know I'm not alone; it's wonderful to have so much advice and experience; and it's a little scary to read some of the grimmer cases.
I'm a newbie to this forum, but have had an Anal Fissure before, but not as uncomfortable as now. Previously I drank more water-based liquids and moved to a higher fibre diet (vegetables roasted in olive oil became a significant part of my diet). I used Fybogel or Lactulose, took a magnesium supplement, used 0.2% nitroglycerin, had a warm pad to sit on and had warm sitz baths. This combination, or some part or parts of it worked, but I didn't keep up that entire regime over the years. By the way I did try cold pads and that numbed the pain but the Doctor said don't do that because to heal the fissure you want to encourage blood flow to the area - so keep it warm: I use a cherrystone pad.