Fissure Tragic Trajectory with a kind of happy ending..

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Fissure Tragic Trajectory with a kind of happy ending..

Postby MB-YVR » 22 Aug 2011, 02:22

HI folks,
Thanks for all the info you folks post. It has helped me a lot. I have been living with a fissure for two years now - two years where my life has pretty much been driven by this fissure. I'll keep this brief, and can expand on details later.
The fissure was not normal from the get go. No pain on defecation. Major butt pain all day that got worse as the day progressed, and was aggravated by vibrations + sitting - like planes.
I tried Nitro, Nifedipine, and other topical ointments. Naadda.
I then looked into Botox. I am a health researcher, so I know how to read the literature, and figured out dosages, and location (inner/exterior sphincter) - tried the Botox twice, and Naaadda.
So by now, it seems certain that this is a low sphincter tonicity fissure. Relaxing the sphincter with Botox is not ameliorating healing. There are, by the way, many more Women whose sphincters are like this. Low sphincter pressure.
That means, LIS will likely make me incontinent -as in oops, I caughed - incontent.
So I pushed until I found a colorectal surgeon who would do the only sensible thing - anal advancement flap. Well, I don't know how many he had done. The flap kind of worked, but the stitches popped open on one side,, and the flap moved.
So, only half of fissure was healed.
Meanwhile, spasms and everyday pain are OUT of this world. Spasms are moving down my legs, into my abdomen. I have to visit pain control docs to get special pain meds.
And even though healing from the flap surgery is by FAR the most painful thing i have ever done in my life, I did it again.