misery

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

misery

Postby katetornado » 29 Oct 2011, 16:34

my fissure came while on vacation 5 years ago. pain lasting so long but then went away. now it is back. i am a cook in restraunt and cant do my job without spasms all day and night. trying to read this blog so that i know what to do. doctor gave suggestions on over the counter creme. i think i have fissure.
katetornado
Fibre Addict

Topics: 4

Re: misery

Postby dwarfs8 » 29 Oct 2011, 17:13

Hi Kate, it's best to visit a CRS for the right diagnosis. Many of us here were misdiagnoised by gps and got the wrong treatments. If urs is fissure, diet to keep stools soft and ointments are very impt. If it's hemorrhoid, diet is the same but ointment used is different.
dwarfs8
King Fissure

Topics: 19

Postby Guest » 29 Oct 2011, 21:51

Hi Kate,
I'm sorry to hear you're in so much pain with the spasms. They are horrible Image
Unfortunately there's really no good over the counter ointments for fissures that will help with spasms. Only a doctor can write a prescription for one of the fissure ointments- Nifedipine, Diltiazem and Nitro are frequently prescribed for fissures . I agree with Dwarfs8, it's a good idea to see a CRS and get a proper diagnosis and care. They have more knowledge about treating your fissure than a GP.

Postby dwarfs8 » 30 Oct 2011, 01:27

misery, i can't imagine u have to stand there and cook while feeling all the pain in the ass! I can't even walk, stand or sit when i was having my worse spasms for a week when i first got my fissure!