A little blood and pain after 5 weeks post-op

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Re: A little blood and pain after 5 weeks post-op

Postby Away PITA! » 24 Jan 2012, 08:11

I'm no doctor or pharmacist (I suggest you ask one or both of them) but I'd suggest keeping up with some metamucil and dropping the Colace. Colace is docusate sodium a stool softener that works by drawing water into the bowels. Mirilax is polyethylene glycol 3350 also a stool softener that works by drawing water into the bowels. Metamucil is what is known as a bulk forming fiber. It absorbs water and then expands (sometimes a lot). It can cause you to have soft but really large (bulky) BMs.
In my experience I found I was using too much metamucil. I was having huge BMs. Granted they were fairly soft but still a lot of waste to pass. After I started Miralax I was able to quit metamucil all together. Between my fruits, veggies, grains, and H20 intake (plus reduced dairy and meats) I'm getting enough fiber.
Everyone responds a bit differently and finding your best formula can be difficult. It can take a bit of time. Oh, and if you aren't walking/exercising much I suggest that too. I have a sit down 8-5 job and I make sure to take several walks each day and try to do one fairly long one after work several times a week. Helps in a bunch of ways. I hope this helps.
Away PITA!
Salt Bather

Topics: 8

Postby letitsnow » 24 Jan 2012, 18:16

Thanks for the info. that really helped. I do not need really bulky stools at this point...no wonder I am having so much pain!!! I wish the doctor had bothered to explain it to me!
I have a couple of other health issues so I don't get much excercise. I will try to do what I can.
Take Care. Image
letitsnow
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Postby letitsnow » 29 Jan 2012, 16:09