Help guys! How do I transition from Colace to Miralax?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Help guys! How do I transition from Colace to Miralax?

Postby Fernie1 » 19 Sep 2012, 10:23

Hi everyone does anybody have some helpful tips on how to transition from Colace to Miralax?
I've been using Colace for five months, but lately Colace has not been consistent. Some days I take 3 one hundred milligrams and have a soft BM, but other days I have to take Four Colace pills and the BM will still be hard. I've heard great things about Miralax on this forum and that it is way more reliable. The only problem with Miralax is that on the bottle it says it would take 1-3 days to work. I'm afraid that when I take Miralax tomorrow I will have a hard BM, because it's effectiveness has not kicked in yet.
Any tips anyone?
I'd greatly appreciate it. :D
thanks you guys!
Fernie1
Salt Bather

Topics: 3

Re: Help guys! How do I transition from Colace to Miralax?

Postby Neen » 19 Sep 2012, 10:36

I still take 3 colace and miralax each day, but if you want to end colace, I would still take it until miralax kicks in...then just adjust your miralax as you need to. Good luck...!
Neen
Salt Bather

Topics: 7

Postby Fernie1 » 20 Sep 2012, 00:10

Thanks for the tip Neen. These things can be so scarry .. not knowing what your bm will be like the next day..like going into a dark dungeon not knowing what kinda dragon you have to battle. Image
Fernie1
Salt Bather

Postby Neen » 20 Sep 2012, 08:57

I know Fernie1....I dread waking up as that first bm dictates what kind of day I will have. Good luck with miralax, it works well! :D
Neen
Salt Bather

Postby jr2 » 20 Sep 2012, 09:05

Hi Fernie,
I agree with Neen. You can slowly transition by taking both at first and finding how much Miralax you need, or you can keep up taking the Colace and the Miralax together.