DILTIAZEM - side effects.

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Re: Diltiazem side effects?

Postby andrew » 22 Jul 2011, 02:14

i have been using diltiazem for last six months on and off. but i have observed that it is causing strong irritation and dryness along with mild rashes down there. the anal skin feels little stretched (what an irony it's meant to relax it).
the composition of my ointment is as follow which is readily available in market
Diltiazem HCl 2% w/v gel
andrew
Fibre Addict

Topics: 4

Postby FishBoi » 22 Jul 2011, 12:41

I guess I'm not the only one with the Diltiazem itch. When I told me CRS about that, he thought I was crazy as none of his other patients had this side effect. At first, I was OK with Diltiazem which worked like a charm for me but after 4 weeks on it, I guess I developed a really bad fungal rash from it. I was then put on NTG paste and same effect. I know NTG and Diltiazem are different class of drugs so I'm thinking it might be the pharmacy that mixed it. I'm now on Nifedipine 0.3% and so far so good (But Diltiazem is still best for me when relaxing down there). Also went to another pharmacy for the this. I'm now wondering if the Diltiazem from this other pharmacy will do me justice. However, thought of that itch really scares me. It's strange, the old pharmacy mixed it by 120g while this other pharmacy by 60g. But I think the % is all relative to the size and should not matter.
I noticed Diltiazem and Nifedipine are the same class of drugs with the former mixed in 2% and the latter 0.3%, are they suppose to be the same strength?
FishBoi
Salt Bather

Topics: 13

Postby sufferer » 29 Oct 2012, 23:29