Ouch!!!!!!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Ouch!!!!!!

Postby Andysponge » 27 May 2013, 11:02

Iam Soooo glad of this forum I have suffered with a fissure for twelve months the pains are horrific after a flare up how do people work? I came home early today because of the severe pain😁Soooo glad am not the only one x
Andysponge

Topics: 2

Re: Ouch!!!!!!

Postby Peppermint Patty » 28 May 2013, 14:39

Hi! Just wanted to say welcome! I've had my fissure for a few months now, and I've had to leave work early a number of times myself. (Thank goodness I have a very understanding boss. She's awesome!) I work as an office assistant, so I'm sitting a lot of the time - not easy! I, too, was very glad when I found this forum - so much great advice here. Miralax and sitz baths have become my best friends as well as lots of water and fiber, and the pain has decreased incredibly. Check around the forum and see what works best for you. It's a lot of trial and error, but you'll work it out! And know that you are definitely not alone!! :D
Peppermint Patty
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Postby Ever the Optimist » 28 May 2013, 16:45

Andysponge,
You are so NOT the only one!!!
12 months is a long time of suffering and constant flare-ups - Have you considered the LIS option at all??
I'm also a full-time worker and worked pretty much through my worst fissure days too - I found a hot bath every morning after my BM very helpful + a pain killer with breakfast and a soft cushion (on top of a Donut!) the best way forward at work. Fortunately, I too had a very sympathetic boss at that time but amazingly did not take any time off other than for EUAs and Fistula surgery recovery. Work was actually a major help for me because it provided me with major distraction.......