Fissurectomy and Botox... just completed!

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Fissurectomy and Botox... just completed!

Postby trieditall » 01 Jul 2013, 15:38

Hello,
I've posted several times... chronic fissure with lots of scar tissue and tag... and pain of course! I am 25 year old female very active (pre-fissure). Like most, it has greatly disrupted my life, making even going to work difficult on bad days. I work in a school, so I opted to have surgery this summer while I am off from work anyway. I had a fissurectomy and botox injection this morning at 9 am. So far so good... I have absolutely no pain, which I realize is because I am still quite numb. My doctor had me have the surgery at this one hospital that has a numbing agent that lasts up to three days. Here's hoping because I looked down there and it so so swollen and my goodness it is black and blue. I can see he removed the tag and much of the scar tissue. It looks raw, but not as bad as I envisioned honestly. The one thing I realized though... they didn't give me any pain med... said to take ibuprofen as needed. That seems a bit weak so I called the doctor's office and they said, "oh... he ALWAYS gives pain meds for this type of surgery..." So he can't be reached because he's in surgery all day... but I have no pain meds on hand. My understanding is you want to stay ahead of this kind of pain so I'm scared. I'm good for now because I'm numb, but I can see this is a painful recovery just by looking! Does anyone have any thoughts? I'm also just wondering if anyone is out there who recovered from this surgery... I know many people on here get LIS, which I did not have.