Acupuncture

Please help others by posting your success story here. Tell us what worked for you, before you move on with your fissure-free life!!

Return to Anal Fissure Success Stories

Acupuncture

Postby recoveryoptions » 13 Apr 2013, 06:06

Hi all,
I am new to this forum but wanted to share that I have experienced some relief in the past couple of weeks by trying 2 things I have never done before. I first suffered from fissures several years ago when my thyroid stopped functioning and I became very constipated. The fissures were pretty bad, but the spasming in my rectum was unbearable. Well...it started again about a month ago and again, the spasming was just terrible. I went to my regular doc and he reccommended the usual...sitz baths, nytro cream....
I decided after several sleepless nights to try something new. I started seeing an acupuncturist and put myself on a clear liquids diet during the day, followed by a very light dinner consisting of sweet potatoe, very cooked greens, a little (1/4 cup) of rice. I drank a lot of broth, herbal tea (no caffeine), gatorade, and water. I kept doing the sitz baths as needed. I quickly found that the intensity and duration of the spasms started to decrease within 2 accupuncture visits and making the dietary changes. My acupuncturist recommended 2 or 3 times a week initially. I started with 2 visits, and am down to one session a week. Since starting, I have had a couple of nearly pain free days. Not entirely pain free.....but much much better. I did the clear liquids and light dinner diet for about 5 days. I am now reintroducing yogurt, sorbet, poached chicken breast, rice noodles. So far, it is going okay. I plan to keep doing acupuncture once a week for the next couple of weeks.