Recovery time?

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Recovery time?

Postby Jen » 27 Feb 2008, 23:09

What was everyone's recovery time like? I am a full time nursing student and until I graduate in July of 2009, I don't have alot of time off. I was thinking about trying to schedule the surgery for a 4 day weekend, but that is the best I can do. I sit in class alot, and don't do much physical work, so do you think I can manage going back to school so soon?
Jen
King Fissure

Topics: 39

Re: Recovery time?

Postby Fissulyna » 28 Feb 2008, 00:24

I think 4 days is too little. Two weeks is more likely to be enough for being able to sit for long time comfortably.
All the best !!!
Fissulyna
VIP

Topics: 61

Postby val » 28 Feb 2008, 01:59

I agree with Fiss. I went shopping 4 days after my surgery and nearly fainted in the shop. To feel anywhere near strong enough you need at least 10 - 14 days.
val
King Fissure

Topics: 86

Postby Guest » 28 Feb 2008, 06:19

I second what Fissulyna & Val said. For me, 4 days after surgery, I could barely talk or move, let alone sit. I think you'll find most people will say at least 2 weeks recovery time. Some people take months, it depends on various factors: the skill of the surgeon; your pain threshhold; diet; rest; what surgery was performed (skin tag removal, internal/external hemmorhoid removal, LIS, polyp removal..etc) .....and several more factors.
Best wishes & welcome to this forum. You'll find plenty of wonderful people only too happy to offer advice & encouragement.

Postby juney » 28 Feb 2008, 10:34

i had 2 LIS surgeries and took 2 weeks off after both of them. I didn't even leave the house til a week or more after the surgeries, and I didn't sit on my butt during that whole time...too sore! You definitely need more time than a long weekend.
juney
King Fissure

Topics: 36