Do I have a fissure or a hemmorhoid or both?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Do I have a fissure or a hemmorhoid or both?

Postby desigirl » 26 Feb 2011, 15:43

Hi everyone,
This is my first post here and I apologize in advance if this topic has been discussed previously. I am 24 and I had a fissure when I was 22. I had to get emergency surgery and the painkillers I was on constipated me causing a fissure. I did not see a doctor, but I was pretty sure that it was fissure because of the excruciating, broken shards of glass pain. It took me 2 months of high-fiber diet, metamucil, and stool softeners to heal it. It was definitely the worst time of my life. Roughly 3 months ago, I started having pain during a BM, but not as bad as when I had the fissure. I am a grad student and visited the health clinic on campus where the doctor told me that I had a hemmorhoid (sp?) and prescribed analpram. I can feel the a tiny hemmorhoid, but I can also feel a crack right next to it. The pain is not as bad as the time I had a fissure before, but it hurts, itches, pricks, and burns for hours after a BM. The doctor insists that it is only a hemmorhoid, but the analpram has not helped at all ( applying for 3 weeks now). I can't see a CRS for at least a month. In the meantime is there any way I can determine if I have a fissure too? Is that or the hemmorhoid causing the pain? When I touch the crack I don't feel any pain ( maybe some pressure), but touching the hemmorhoid does not hurt either! I'm so confused. I appreciate any help! Thank you!
desigirl

Topics: 1

Re: Do I have a fissure or a hemmorhoid or both?

Postby New mum » 26 Feb 2011, 18:11

hey desigirl,