My Anal Fissure and My Regimen

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

My Anal Fissure and My Regimen

Postby ToothDoctor » 30 Jan 2012, 15:09

10 weeks ago, I passed a hard, dry and wide stool, and I have had an anal fissure ever since.
My Symptoms
It feels like I am passing shards of glass every time I have a BM (even if it is thin and soft). Occasionally I have blood in the tissue. My anus then hurts for the next 5-6 hours afterwards. My anus hurts when any time my anus clenches: during orgasm, when I'm lifting heavy weights etc.
My Current Regimen
1. Lubricating my anus before BM with glycerin lubricant.
2. Not straining during BM. Gently wiping after BM.
3. 0.2% nitroglycerin (not available in Canada, but I'm a dentist and the pharmacist made it for me). Applied after BM and before sleep.
4. Sitz bath / heat pack three times a day.
Diet
I have only been eating fruits and vegetables. I eat primarily a garden salad at every meal with little to no meat. I still have chocolate, even though it can cause occasional constipation. I have about 1.5L of water every day.
Doctors
4 weeks after having an anal fissure, I saw a family doctor and he gave me an antibiotic ointment that did absolutely nothing. 6 weeks after I having the anal fissure, I saw ANOTHER family doctor who gave me Proctosedyl suppositories that is suppose to stop the anal spasm and help healing, but it seems all suppositories seem to make my AF worse due to the trauma of insertion.
I live in Canada, and we don't have Rectogesic 0.04% nitroglycerin. Luckily I am a dentist, so I had the pharmacist make me a 0.02% nitroglycerin ointment, that I am now using.
Things that I Have Tried with no Positive Results
Anusol Plus Suppositories
Preparation H Suppositories / Ointment
Glycerin Suppositories
Polysporin Ointment
Proctosedyl Suppositories