Thank goodness for this forum!

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Thank goodness for this forum!

Postby Fiber is my best friend. » 27 Apr 2012, 20:54

Hi everyone! I am a newbie to the forum as of today, but I have been reading the posts since January.
I was diagnosed with an anal fissure in January. It is the worst thing that I have ever experienced. I had to mentally prepare myself for a bm everyday and then I would check out because the pain/spasms afterwards were so overwhelming. It hurt so bad a couple of times that I actually threw up as I was having a bm. My three year old son was so scared one night because I was straining, sobbing, etc. uncontrollably. I have a pretty high tolerance for pain, but this has kicked my butt. Literally. I really do not know how some of you on the forum have dealt with this for years.
I had a fissurectomy on March 26th. I also had several hemorrhoids removed at the same time. One month post surgery and I am still sore, straining, having some blood, etc. I have been checking in to see if others have experienced the same issues that I have been dealing with post surgery. My Dr was nice and all, however his office is always packed and I feel like he herds me in and out of my appointment quickly. I have to stop him from running out in order to ask him questions and he has one foot out the door the entire time I am asking him. Your posts have really helped to alleviate some of the anxiety that I have felt (and still am feeling) in regards to going to the bathroom. I will certainly never take a good bm for granted and I hope to have one again someday. :D