Staying on Diltiazem ointment long-term (months or years)?

CRS giving me a hard time about refills and not wanting surgery right now

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Staying on Diltiazem ointment long-term (months or years)?

Postby Luka » 07 Jan 2015, 19:58

I haven’t been on this forum for a few months now, but had a question. Is it harmful to stay on the ointments (specifically Diltiazem ointment) for long-term use? I don’t think my chronic fissure is fully healing since I’ve been on it for about two years now and I can still feel it there. The ointment helps relax the internal sphincter muscle, which is chronically tight due to the fissure still being there and my major issues with anxiety. It helps me with pain and seems to prevent flare-ups. I’ve tried to stop it twice, but each time my pain seemed to come back and I’d get another flare-up of the issue/re-tear. So, needless to say, I’m not ready to stop using it right now.

I’m trying to avoid any kind of surgery right now since I don’t have any health insurance and other medical issues in my family that makes money incredibly tight for us right now. I’m also incredibly scared of any kind of surgery down there. I’ve heard many success stories about LIS, but I’ve also heard a lot of horror stories and surgery is always a risk. I’m just not ready for it. My CRS says it will be the next step, but he doesn’t seem to like me staying on the Diltiazem ointment long-term while I wait to make that next step (if I ever do). Has anyone had any issues with this with their CRS not wanting to prescribe the ointment medication? As far as I know, there are no side effects from it unless you have an allergic reaction to it (in which case, you just stop using it) and it’s not skin-thinning like hydrocortisone cream. I feel like my CRS is treating it like it’s a narcotic and not wanting to give me any more refills on it.