Chronic Anal Fissure Advice?

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Chronic Anal Fissure Advice?

Postby Thrace » 08 Apr 2015, 06:22

Hi there everyone,

I'm Sam, I'm a student, and I've had an anal fissure for what must be about 6 or 7 years now. When I first went to see the doctor aged about 14 it was diagnosed as a fissure straight away and I was prescribed rectogesic, but it gave me terrible headaches and I had to stop using it before I saw any change. I then started to use anusol, at my dad's advice (he having had a fissure himself in the past), which never fully healed it but definitely soothed it and made it manageable. And because I was lazy, I just left it at that for a bit, using anusol relatively often but without any particular regularity. Sometimes the fissure was worse than other times, but it was generally alright.

Over the last few years it's been getting worse though. When it started to get really painful again I went to see the doctor, was (eventually) prescribed diltiazem, which seemed to be marginally effective, but made my anus incredibly sore which forced me to stop using it. I was referred to a colorectal surgeon, but the fissure was annoyingly behaving itself the week I went to see him, but he agreed I could try a botox injection when I explained that it's often worse than what he saw. I've not had the injection yet, but hopefully it'll be organised soon...