A few more high fiber foods

Discuss changes in diet that have helped you manage your fissure, or any supplements or medications/creams that have been effective.

Return to Diet Tips / Supplements

A few more high fiber foods

Postby small_flower » 13 Jan 2007, 10:08

Hello again!
I am always on the look out for really high fiber foods that I can eat in a jiffy. I am a full time student, and I start student teaching at the end of this month, but I need to keep my diet in check! So I have found a few things that I really like.
Fiber one cereal--not the flakes, but the little crunchies (they kind of look like macaroni elbows, except they arent hollow and they are smaller and made of grain Image ) I take one serving size of this, (a quarter cup?) and I mix it with stoneybrook farms yogurt. Thats 9 grams of fiber right there! Its a good and quick breakfast option.
Big Y multi grain bagels--what can I say? 13 grams of fiber in 1 bagel! Image
Metamucil cookies--they dont taste bad, and one serving is 6 grams of fiber. I usually eat them before I go to bed. They usually help in the morning with the first BM.
Pears--soft, yummy, sweet, mushy pears. Very yummy, and a good thing to take if you need to get out of the door fast!
Whole wheat penne--one serving is 5 grams of fiber. Topped with 2 tbl spoons of sauce, thats about 7 grams in one meal.
miltons whole wheat breads--The only place I can find these are at a grocery story chain called Trader Joes. But, there is 5 grams of fiber in one slice, so one sandwich can pack ten grams of fiber! Thats 1/3 of your fiber in one sitting! Miltons also has another brand of bread with 6 grams in each slice.
I cant think of anything else right now, but if I do, then I will let you know!
xo
kate
small_flower
Proctosphincteranalogist

Topics: 62

Re: A few more high fiber foods

Postby happyass » 13 Jan 2007, 11:34

oh i love your little kitty!!!! black kitties are the best!!!!