LIS on Wednesday morning (edit)

Fissure story and update on upcoming surgery!!!

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

LIS on Wednesday morning (edit)

Postby letsgetthisover » 01 Aug 2016, 14:49

Hello all,

This is my first time posting after lurking for several months and heeding advice from all of you wonderful, miserable long time sufferers!

I have had a fissure since November of '15, approximately five months after giving birth to my son. It has been around 9 months of constant pain and misery, as you sufferers well know... Quality of life has so diminished, it revolves around pain and BMs, and I can hardly remember what pain free life was like.

Two months after getting the anal fissure, it was medically diagnosed as such and I was given an extremely conservative home treatment and sent on my way. When that failed, I tried to eliminate stress and completely shut down my life, hoping extreme rest would help (in addition to baths, coconut oil, Epsom salts, fiber, laxatives, water, and a diet change. There was no change in my symptoms and I tried that for four months.