Fissure re-tear/new tear causes/factors?

Anxiety, IBS, constipation, stress, diet, childbirth

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Fissure re-tear/new tear causes/factors?

Postby Manitourose » 21 Oct 2015, 06:44

Hello guys,

Sorry admins, I accidentally originally posted this in the LIS topic.
Reaching out for support and out of curiosity. My background is that I came to this board over a year ago after being diagnosed with a simple fistula. It was repaired and about 5 months after I saw another CRS (new city) worried about a re-occurrence of the fistula and was found instead to have a deep internal fissure. It took a few months to fully heal using diltiazem 2x a day, coconut oil during the day and increasing my baths to promote healing.
I recently (last week) had a minor retear. I am using the same protocol. I honestly feel WIPED OUT physically & emotionally from a number of things. I deal with generalized anxiety disorder (still trying to find a therapist in my new city), began developing health fears in the last few years, was recently dx'd with an low-grade abnormal pap and HPV after no new partners and always had a clean bill of health --so a biopsy is scheduled next week, new internist just started me on amitriptyline after being on gabapentin on & off for years (to treat IBS & anxiety) and after a very stressful couple years and recent months taking my boards exams I ended up with a pretty rough bout of IBS and still do not feel great. I think attacks of IBS and anxiety are my key factors to re-tear. I am so tired of the anxiety, IBS and bum issues though. It really holistically is affecting my ability to get started in my new career and live peacefully.
Image So my question is:
What factors into your new or re-tear of fissures?
If you don't have any factors, a virtual hug will suffice.. ;-), but I'm sure we all have ideas of what leads to our bum issues. :thanx: :needguh:
Manitourose