LIS 9 days ago

New member, former lurker

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

LIS 9 days ago

Postby Hopeful1 » 26 Mar 2016, 08:31

Hello all,

I've been visiting this forum for about 8 months since I was diagnosed with an Anal Fissure. See my signature for my "CV"! :groan:

My fissure was never very painful, so for many years I put my discomfort down to Hemmorhoids (which I've suffered with for probably the last 10 years with lots of bleeding over the course - mostly internal but initially external).
I had the stabbing pain that many experience, but only rarely. Perhaps a brief knife-like sensation 3-4 times per year, and at random intervals. My diet was actually very poor and my stools frequently too hard which of course didn't help things.

After a break-up and relocation 2 Christmases ago, I decided to focus on my health. I had several long standing niggling problems, of which my backside was just one.

After a rubber band ligation last spring I thought that would be it. I finally sorted my diet, and was drinking plenty of water and getting regular exercise. Howevever the pain continued so I assumed they'd returned.
Going back to my surgeon, he had a look inside and I was told they weren't big enough to do anything about so just keep up with the diet and exercise.

I had a skin tag down there, which I asked to be removed. Thankfully, he agreed. After my recovery from that, still the pain continued.

So, deciding I couldn't face all the waiting inherent with the NHS I started seeing a CRS privately. I was happy to pay occasional consultation fees if it meant not waiting months for a 10 minute consultation!