new AF patient

experiences with diltiazem?

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

new AF patient

Postby cassiedamon » 07 Jun 2022, 21:28

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum. I'm actually new to online support in general, and the amount of information is a bit overwhelming. I am a 43 year old female. i have had issues with hemorrhoids since my mid 20s but always minor, and resolved with at-home remedies. In December 2021 i had the classic hemorrhoid symptoms, so I self-treated as I always do, but the pain and bleeding did not subside in a few days as per usual. Fast forward a few months, when the pain became excruciating- I saw my PCP then colorectal surgery (appointments that took months to make- and i am in the USA, and on the nursing staff of the hospital). Via visual and finger exam I was diagnosed with an anal fissure (anterior). I have many skin tags, one I know is old. I already had suspicions about the diagnosis (my best friend also has anal fissure/fistula) so had already been doing the home remedies that did not help much. I was prescribed diltiazem/lidocaine ointment and instructed to use it for 12 weeks, and follow up if it doesn't heal.