make it easier!

A place for you to keep a record of your healing or surgery.

Return to Diaries

make it easier!

Postby whoknew » 04 Dec 2013, 16:21

I'm listening to music. As I was about to begin this entry, the Indigo Girls' "Make it Easier" came on. It's really more about struggling in poverty and powerlessness, but in those dark moments where I'm writhing on the bed, the unspoken prayer is basically the same: Please, God or someone, make it easier!

I'm not good at pain or discomfort. I can push through it, but I can't pretend that I'm not invisibly, internally getting my ass beat by my own ass. My face shows it, my withdrawn personality, the tremor in my hands. It's obvious. I am perversely proud of myself for pushing through an anal fissure, which my CRS describes as "the most painful thing that can happen in that area of the body", for pushing through 5 weeks of slowly advancing anal agony, and for not retreating to bed until I could no longer keep the tears from falling. (Customer service is no place for a weeping manager. Even though I do work with amazing people who are caring and understanding, the general public is a different story.)

I say "perversely proud" because looking back, I wish I would have done something sooner.... I have health insurance, I should have gone to the doctor, duh. But work was so crazy and busy, and it wasn't SO bad, and it could be just a hemorrhoid (hah), and list of other stupid excuses. The worst, most secret and self-destructive excuse: if it's something serious, there is no way I could take care of it right NOW, with us being so short-staffed. Literally no way! It's a weird combination of ego and fear and denial that gets me to these bad decisions, this twisted thinking.