Advice from the Ladies, Please

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Advice from the Ladies, Please

Postby Guest » 28 Jan 2008, 11:18

I've read a couple of posts concerning dealing with the AF during the monthly cycle, but I still have some concerns. I'm a relative newbie to this and am still trying to figure out what works best for me. This will be my second period since all of this began and I really want to be better prepared this time. As I stated before, I think, compared to many of you, I must have a pretty mild fissure. (Thank God.) Regardless, I know how all-encompassing this has been for me, so I really feel for everyone on the board. Anyway, are there any extra precautions that I should take while my period is on? I take stool softeners 3x a day and have 1 1/2 tbsp of olive oil for "smooth passage." I was really irritated by the kotex last month bc, excuse the graphic description, it kept feeling like there was leakage back towards that area. I'm due in the next few days and I dread having a rough time that sets me back any further. Thanks for listening!

Re: Advice from the Ladies, Please

Postby val » 28 Jan 2008, 11:25

I think it depends on what effect your period has on you. If it makes you constipated, then maybe up the stool softeners. Have you tried flaxoil or fish oils?
If you get looser BMs during it then maybe take a little less.
Before my LIS I had really bad spasms and it was those that caused the problem each month. Ibruprofen helped a little, valium was very good and lots of hot baths. I always had a hot water bottle glued to my butt for 8 months too, and one on my tummy as well when I had my period! Hope that helps!
val
King Fissure

Topics: 86

Postby Guest » 28 Jan 2008, 12:52