Natural Calm drink

Discuss changes in diet that have helped you manage your fissure, or any supplements or medications/creams that have been effective.

Return to Diet Tips / Supplements

Natural Calm drink

Postby Guest » 31 Jan 2008, 11:58

A newbie here -
Anyone here takes the Natural Calm drink, by dr. peter gillham? I've been taking this drink for over 3 months, 1/2 teaspoon before bed. It works nicely, softening the stool, but I am concerned whether or not this med will affect me in the long run. How long can a person be on this med? I e-mailed their sale rep and she said it is a safe product and I can take as long as I would like. But....what else do I expect for them to say?!?
I've been w/ other forum and joined the AF support group, but this one is for keep.

Re: Natural Calm drink

Postby Guest » 31 Jan 2008, 12:05

Hi there,

Welcome to the forum! I actually have a canister of the Natural Calm you are talking about but I haven't tried it yet. I do take a magnesium supplement already so I wasn't sure if I would be overdoing it but taking both. I think long term use is fine. There is another boardie who uses this and I believe she has for awhile now.

I plan on taking magensium long term. It really does help with bms.

Postby motherluch » 31 Jan 2008, 14:45

Hi there,
I too take Natural Calm, and have been for about 4 years. My Gastro Dr. in NYC says I can take it long term no problem. As a matter of fact she encourages it, either this or Milk Of Magnesia or Miralax. Natural Calm works for me, if I don't take it at night before bed, I do not go, so it is a necessity for me. I drink more than you, about 1 1/2- 2 tsps. every night before bed and I go most every morning,( sometimes I skip a day). I love this stuff, and I would not worry about taking it long term. The only people who should not take magnesium are people who have poor kidney function. Otherwise about 80% of the population is deficient in it and really can benefit from it in many ways.