New here and getting ready to have surgery

Having a internal lateral sphincterotomy tomorrow

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

New here and getting ready to have surgery

Postby mikeymike76 » 27 Apr 2015, 14:58

My name is Mike and I have been battling the Anal Fissures for about 4 or 6 years. My surgeon has been telling me for a long time “when you get tired of dealing with this anal fissure come talk to me” well I have used the cream several times and it has worked in the past.
My problem was I didn’t keep taking Metamucil or a high fiber diet and kept reoccurring.

I don’t like needles or hospitals period but I went back in to have it looked at and he said it is getting pretty bad and you need to get this taken care of. So I have it scheduled for tomorrow morning at 6am so apparently I have to start a fleet enema 2 hours prior to arrival so I guess I have to get up at 3am and get started because the place I am doing it is about an hour away.

I am new to the whole enema thing and I don’t know what to expect out of it. If anyone has any positive things to share please feel free as I have never been through this surgery and am kind of scared of IV’s and etc. I am 38 years old and I am a baby when it comes to these things. I will keep everyone posted on everything so that I can help any new people that may need it.

Wish me luck!
mikeymike76
Fibre Addict

Topics: 2

Re: New here and getting ready to have surgery

Postby chachacha » 27 Apr 2015, 15:23

Hi Mike,

Sorry to hear that you've already suffered for such a long time, but sometimes we get to the point where we just have to do something about it. I took even longer than you did, but am so very glad that I took the chance and had the surgery. My whole life is normal now, unlike the horror that used to be my situation after every BM!