Anal fissure story + severe anxiety attacks and losing hope

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Postby Severelydepressed » 19 Oct 2015, 09:16

Hi all, this is my first time writing in this forum but I have been coming here daily over the past month as it has been my true refuge with the horror I've been going through.

A few basic facts: I am a 27 yr old female and very short (barely five feet tall) and weighed a healthy 92 pds for my frame. I am currently at 86 pds, but this is due to me not eating much for fear of painful bowel movements. I have always eaten fairly healthy, mostly organic foods and very rarely eat any red meat. I sometimes eat chicken and fish twice a week. I have also been drinking 70 oz of water per day since my fissure happened.

This all started about five weeks ago. After brushing off my constipation and attributing it to my pending menstrual cycle, my pain during BMs got worse and worse until eventually I ended up getting a hemorrhoid after one exceptionally excruciating BM that left me on the floor shaking and in tears. I was initially straining, not realizing how bad it is. I ended up making an appointment with a GI, who said she did indeed see a little hemorrhoid outside my anus. She attempted to perform a digital rectal exam but could not due to my pain. She told me to go home and take Prep H suppositories, sitz baths, and drink Citrucel every day. She also scheduled a flexible sigmoidoscopy, which she ended up rescheduling 3x before canceling on me. She called my pharmacy and prescribed me Canasa suppositories and Lidocaine since I complained about worsening pain. I did not get these because I wanted a second opinion due to how flaky she was and how annoyed she seemed by me. She never ended up returning any of my calls.