My Story so far

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

My Story so far

Postby FissureFighter80 » 19 Apr 2016, 14:04

Hi All,
I will start by thanking the wonderful people who run this site which is an immense base of information and comfort for all the sufferers like myself.

I am a 35 yo male based in London. I work in IT so sitting in front of computers all day is what I do.
My issues first started about 5 years ago when I got a bad AF and ended up in hospital A&E at midnight because of severe pain. At the time I was given some sort of ointment which didn't really do much and then one thing led to another and I ended up at a BUPA hospital where I was given Botox injections and also had haemorodectomy.

From that point onwards I was mostly pain free but say every 3 months or so would get a painful bowel movement and the pain would last from hours to a few days and then I would get on with normalcy. One thing I always noticed was that when driving long distances I would start getting pains in my rectal region just because of that posture for long periods. Its some thing to do with pressure which I have never completely understood. Anybody else has this?

So we get to about 6 months ago when I again got a bad AF most probably from diarrhea this time. Spent about 2 months in varying levels of some discomfort to absolute agony and eventually ended up in A&E once again. The doctor over there after examination told me the good news that I have AF once again. He prescribed Xyloproct Hydrocortisone 5% and some lactulose. It worked for a couple of weeks then pain came back. I think its also my stupidity of thinking that after being pain free for a week I would assume that the AF is healed and I would go back to my bad habit of eating junk food and not much water etc.