First time anal fissure

Any athletic people

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

First time anal fissure

Postby Cfak » 29 Nov 2016, 22:36

I am on my 3rd week on bedrest. I was wondering if it is safe to start going back to my exercise routine ( push ups, squares, light weights, swimming, running , bike riding) once I heal and don't feel any pain. Anyone who is an athlete with an anal fissure?
Cfak
Fibre Addict

Topics: 3

Re: First time anal fissure

Postby GilmoreGirl » 04 Dec 2016, 18:27

Hi there,

I'm a personal trainer and have pretty much been on bedrest for 9 weeks with a fissure, so I feel your frustration!

The first time I had a fissure it lasted about two weeks, and I resumed lighter than normal exercise at about 4 weeks, and back to normal in 5 or 6 - heavy squats and cardio included!

However if your fissure is more serious I would give lots of time. Check with your doctor to see what they think, and maybe consider seeing a physiotherapist to help you ease back in to it.

In my opinion (and this is just my personal opinion, not from a health practitioner), I would feel safer starting with light cardio first, as that will help promote blood flow without straining too much. Then I would move to light lifting, focusing on isolation movements (leg curls, tricep press, that kind of thing) rather than moves that require bracing (like squats or deadlifts). I would also make sure you really have the correct breathing and technique down before moving on - this will help prevent too much pressure down there!!

I really hope that helps - again, all just my opinion, but I'm in the same boat!
GilmoreGirl
VIP

Topics: 18

Postby tightybehind » 05 Dec 2016, 12:54