Newcomer

What comes next...?

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Newcomer

Postby graylene » 23 May 2017, 18:51

Well hi, I've been dealing with AF since March of this year and I'm currently healing from my 2nd re-tear. Saw a CRS in April who prescribed diltiazem, which has been helpful with spasms. Had a follow-up with him today, and he does not feel the diltiazem is working.
Scheduled me for LIS in June. He also encouraged me to continue with the regimen I've been using for almost 3 months now (25-30 grams of fiber daily, 60-80 oz water daily, stool softeners nightly, and heating pad after bathroom trips.) He said that if I improve significantly between now and the end of June (with continued use of diltiazem) I might opt to cancel the surgery. Although it sounds like LIS is his recommendation either way, he did say that I need to decide what feels right for me.

After reading so much information about others' experiences on this forum (THANK YOU) I was surprised to hear that surgery was an option so quickly - this was only my 2nd appt with him.) I'm curious if anyone can share their "timeline" for how quickly surgery became part of the conversation... and the main factors that you have considered when deciding to have (or not have) LIS...?

Lastly - I want to express gratitude to all of you for sharing your stories and expressing so much compassion - it has helped me, and countless others, I am sure.
graylene
Fibre Addict

Topics: 3

Re: Newcomer

Postby Canadabum » 23 May 2017, 21:07

Hey Graylene - first of all - welcome!!

You've arrived at the right place - so sorry that you too are dealing with the dreaded AF.