My solution

What I did to heal

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

My solution

Postby lostdude » 02 Aug 2017, 03:42

Hi everyone. Im first going to start out by saying im not a doctor nor do I make any claims or promises. Obviously this topic isn't what you would talk about table side, but I wanted to share my experience and solution with others that might also be in the same place I was for almost 3 years. Im also a guy, so this wasn't exactly easy to talk to the doctor about.

One day about 3 years ago, I had a big bowel movement, one that felt sharp and painful. Shortly after, maybe 2 weeks I noticed a small tear just outside the anus, about 1inch long. I didn't think anything of it at first but soon it got worse, painful and really itchy. I went to the doctor and was prescribed a steroid cream. I started using the cream and indeed it did work. However, the tear would reappear after a few days from stopping the cream. (The doctor warns about over use of a steroid cream as they thin the skin) I found myself using the cream often, over & over again. Same result. The tear would reappear, especially after having diarrhea. I believe the stomach acids also have bad affects on skin, especially when it's already open or irritated.

After seeing the doctor 3 times with no further advancement, I decided to start researching and testing out my own experiments to see what I could do to help my body heal. Now the following things I did which worked for me aren't standard, they are probably seen as extreme by some. However, I was willing to do anything to heal!

First I started off by using aloe. The flesh from an aloe plant is really healing to the skin. I would cut a small part of the leaf off, open it in half and rub it gently and directly into the site, letting it dry before dressing. Aloe plant can be purchased at most health food stores or plant stores.