Post op LIS problems

Problems after LIS

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Post op LIS problems

Postby Armyguy » 12 Oct 2017, 11:01

Hello everyone. A little bit about myself. I’ve been visiting the forums for about 3 years but never created an account until today.

I currently am in the US Army and am male. About 3 years ago I developed a chronic anal fissure which became very problematic. Especially with the work I do in the military. I pretty much was given the choice of get LIS or get a new job.

So September 11th 2017 I actually had LIS. Now before anyone asks. No I went to reputable civilian doctor who has performed hundreds of these with great success. After surgery I was in a lot of pain but it was pretty much to be expected after surgery. After about 10 days my fissure felt about 90 percent better. But my incision site had developed an abscess. So on 28th of September I went to see my CRS. He took a look and said we have to do an in office procedure on the abscess. Will be pretty quick.

So I think okay Doc you know what you’re doing. So after the local anesthetic, which let me tell you, was worse than anything I had felt in that area before, he lances the abscess. He then tells me that’s all I should need and I’ll be all better.

Well besides being sore from where he cut the abscess I actually started feeling better. Temporarily. Well about a week ago, I started getting pain again at the incision site. So yesterday on 11 October 2017 I go back and see him. Of course I’m a nervous wreck because my last experience with him was really unpleasant.