Treatment of Anal Fissure

How I treat anal fissure

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Treatment of Anal Fissure

Postby FissureDoctor » 04 Jan 2018, 18:12

Hello,
I am a colon and rectal surgeon from Long Island, NY. I just discovered this forum, and have read some interesting posts. I have a special interest in the treatment of anal fissure. Please read about how I approach this problem at http://www.colonandrectalsurgeons.com/anal-fissure/. I hope you will find this information useful.
Dr. Leiboff
FissureDoctor
Fibre Addict

Topics: 1

Re: Treatment of Anal Fissure

Postby patience_and_healing » 04 Jan 2018, 20:18

Wow, I'm surprised to see a doctor posting here. There have been a couple of members on this forum who were treated by you. I assume they are still doing well now.
8/16-12/16: Fissure due to antibiotics
5/17: Botox to sphincter, fissure healed
9/19: Trigger point injections and pudendal nerve block
11/19: Botox to pelvic floor
8/20: Botox to pelvic floor in new location.
On and off in pelvic physical therapy
patience_and_healing

Topics: 40

Postby FissureDoctor » 04 Jan 2018, 23:35

I hope they are doing well. Recurrence of fissure is always possible. I prefer Standardiazed Anal Dilatation over lateral internal sphincterotomy because I believe it to be a safer choice, not because I believe it has a higher success rate. I welcome all feedback, positive or negative. It would be nice to conduct a randomized prospective trial to compare the two approaches
FissureDoctor
Fibre Addict

Postby patience_and_healing » 05 Jan 2018, 01:40