Post Botox Recovery

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Postby SueC361 » 02 Mar 2019, 21:24

Greetings! Very happy to have found this group. I’ve been wrestling with a fissure for about 6 months now and had the Botox injections 2 weeks ago. My primary care doctor was treating me for hemorrhoids which the surgeon told me were fine. So, I wonder if they could have been treated from the get go simply with creams. My two questions are: 1. Should I continue to use my primary care doctor where she misdiagnosed and essentially was irritating the fissures and 2. Is it normal to sometimes still be uncomfortable after a bowel movement for a few hours even after the Botox treatment? Thank you.
SueC361

Topics: 1

Re: Newbie

Postby patience_and_healing » 06 Mar 2019, 11:11

Our stories are somewhat similar. I was treated with hydrocortisone suppositories for my fissure when it first showed up even though the basic exam was very indicative of a fissure. I'm pretty sure that they made things worse even though I only used them for a few days. I never went back to that doctor because who knows what else she would wrongly diagnose.

Botox can take some time to kick in fully so there will be some discomfort for the first few days. Just remember to keep BMs soft yet formed so that your body has a chance to fully heal. I continued using nifedipine while the Botox was active but you should ask your doctor about that. Ointments may cause long term sensitivity if overused.
8/16-12/16: Fissure due to antibiotics
5/17: Botox to sphincter, fissure healed
9/19: Trigger point injections and pudendal nerve block
11/19: Botox to pelvic floor
8/20: Botox to pelvic floor in new location.
On and off in pelvic physical therapy
patience_and_healing

Topics: 40

Postby SueC361 » 06 Mar 2019, 11:55