Another setback?!

Discuss any questions, problems or share your solutions here...

Return to General Anal Fissure Discussion

Another setback?!

Postby juney » 08 Aug 2007, 10:05

i've been doing everything right since my surgery 3 months ago and have noticed little to no progress in healing my fissure. i've been avoiding constipation, and bowel movements haven't been too bad. but this morning for some reason my stool was SO hard. i had to push in order for it to come out (something i NEVER do) and it hurt a lot as it felt like it ripped me open. there was a lot more bright red blood than i've seen in a long time. i think it might be because i ate chinese food yesterday at a work lunch. i'm kicking myself for even eating it!!
do you guys think it's possible to have one bad BM but not completely set yourself back? i'm so worried i just ripped the fissure open to what it was in the beginning of all this (a year ago!!). i work all day so i can't just jump in the bath. how do you guys manage 3 baths a day? does anyone else work (away from home) full-time? i have been taking all kinds of supplements and even started applying aloe vera to my bottom in the last 2 days. i'm hoping i can prevent it from getting back to its original state.
i'm going to have the 2nd LIS surgery, but i don't want to start from scratch completely. has anyone else ever had a really bad BM, hard and with blood, but not set yourself back completely? what should i do to soothe it while i'm here at work, aside from taking already 4 ibuprofen.
juney
King Fissure

Topics: 36

Re: Another setback?!

Postby edward_adams » 08 Aug 2007, 10:11

I haven't had surgery, but a couple of weeks ago things were going well, BMs were getting better and pain decreased. Then one day I had the hardest BM ever, like you, felt like a ripped a new one. I was in the most pain ever for the next 2 days.
Then I took some colace and few days after that I was right back on track.
edward_adams
Salt Bather

Topics: 6