Considering surgery, your help is much appreciated!

Are you having, or have you had a Lateral Internal Sphincterotomy (LIS)? Please share your experiences here, or ask any questions.

Return to LIS - Considering surgery or already had it?

Considering surgery, your help is much appreciated!

Postby Ink184 » 01 Aug 2011, 10:32

I am fairly new to this wonderful online community, my intro can be found Here!
It has been almost 4 days since i saw my CRS, he recommended i take three sachets of Movicol a day, Celebrex for the pain ( i am trying my best to stay off of it i think i take one pill every two days or so) and Rialocaine (Sterile gel which acts as a local sedative as well, it lasts for two minutes though lol). He said if it didn't get better we will go for surgery within one week.
Movicol has been awesome, for the first time in months i don't find myself straining or pushing every BM. I think my constipation problem has been solved. But the pain from my AF hasn't been easy. Sometimes it can be very intense and leaves me shaking and clenching for a couple of hours until it recedes and it only disappears after say 5 hours more or less. I was trying to time my BM (sorry for the info lol) to be after work, since i figured i can deal with the pain at home with hot baths and laying down on my back. Unfortunately it is now happening in the morning, which forces me to stay home all day and skip work. I have already been on a sick leave due to a hernia surgery last month but i can tell my manager is not very happy with me skipping days every now and then.