Sad Newbie here

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Sad Newbie here

Postby ansenber » 19 Jul 2012, 08:43

Hi everyone,
Just want to say thank you for having this forum available, I have been reading all your posts for a while now, and they have been really helpful. It's just nice to know that there are other people out there who deal with this every day.
My story begins with a horrible case of food poisoning (my father's girlfriend undercooked turkey- we are pretty sure she was trying to kill us all!). Everyone who was at dinner got really sick, my brother got a hernia from vomiting so much! After the food poisoning, I began to notice pain when I would go to the bathroom, just during BM, but it got to the point where it was pretty severe, so I made an appointment with at GI doc.
He told me I had a fissure (did a quick exam) and gave me hydrocortisone suppositories and suggested I do a colonoscopy. The suppositories seemed to help and then I did the colonoscopy, and the doc diagnosed me with Crohn's. Shocking! He wanted me to go on immunesuppressants that cost $800 a month, to which I said, no thank you. I hadn't been feeling any sort of GI distress- I just thought I had a hemmorhoid! So, I went to get a second opinion and was told that the food poisioning could've caused the Crohn's, but if I was feeling fine, then I didn't need the drugs.
So, for about 6 months I was fine, fissure free, eating normally (avoiding certain foods- popcorn, raw veggies) but generally living a normal life. Then I decided I was going to try and get my body back on track by eating lots of veggies. I used to take a salad to work every day for lunch, but had stopped because of the Crohns diagnosis, my body just can't digest the plant fiber. So, I started that again, and man, did I mess myself up...