Teacher - Off work with AF

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Teacher - Off work with AF

Postby Zodiak » 26 Nov 2013, 09:03

Hello I am a Science teacher in the UK, and have been off work for three months now with a Fissure.
It still hurts but I can move around at home and most days are bearable, but I couldn't teach.
One problem at school is that we can only go to the toilet during break and lunchtime, which makes it really difficult if yo get desperate.
The other issue is that when it hurts, it really hurts and I can't concentrate on keeping the class busy and on target. Its a boys high school and once you loose class discipline it is a nightmare to tray and get it back.
I can have two or three good days, but then a really bad morning where my BM is huge and it hurts like mad for the rest of the day and I feel like I have been kicked up the butt for days after, including the ever present burning sensation.
I had no idea that this forum existed and have already been inspired by some of the posts.
Zodiak
Salt Bather

Topics: 4

Re: Teacher - Off work with AF

Postby MarathonGirl » 26 Nov 2013, 09:47

I am a teacher in Canada and you're right, it's very tough to be able to go to the bathroom when you need to. I was in a desperate situation yesterday at one point, but thankfully it was a really well-behaved, small class; they were very busy and I wasn't gone for long. I teach instrumental music and English, and spend little time sitting down, thankfully, because some days I can't sit because of the pain. I have read about people who had desk jobs, or jobs where they needed their car a lot, and had to quit their job.

I've had my fissure for 6 weeks and am already thinking about getting the LIS, even though I would have to miss 2-3 weeks of work. Have you thought about this as well?
MarathonGirl
Fibre Addict