Stage 2 - To Do or not to Do, that is the question?

Please come in! Start your own personal thread, tell us a bit about yourself...and your fissure, of course. Welcome!

Return to New to the forum? Introduce yourself here

Stage 2 - To Do or not to Do, that is the question?

Postby PainInTheAss » 14 Mar 2010, 05:55

Hi everyone, I have been viewing the posts on this forum for quite a few months now but this is my first actual contribution so would like to say thanks in advance, this website has been helpful in knowing we are not alone in these awful times. Here is to everyone getting well sooner than later.
My situation is that I have been suffering with a fissure now for about two years. Early last year I went through all the creams/ointments given to me by my GP but still didn't improve much. I had to constantly put up with the sharp pain every morning after BM and then a dull numbing pain for 4-6 hours after. This is not very pleasant when you can't sit (not that I could as I would stand) on the bus or train that you have to take each morning to work and then try to sit through meetings with clients (I would have to sit and just swallow hard in these instances, would look a bit silly standing in a meeting with clients). My diet became very strict and to be honest has put stress on my life as I can't just eat and drink what I want anymore. It’s now at the point I choose to eat things based on their fibre content at restaurants rather than what I like, I don't drink much socially which my friends are all mythed about and I don't eat takeaways with family so I can't really relax.